Dota 2
Now Reading
Manila Masters Philippine qualifier details, local qualifier events to commence in 20 locations

Manila Masters Philippine qualifier details, local qualifier events to commence in 20 locations

by LouisMarch 8, 2017

More than 20 teams will soon have the chance to be part of the Philippines’ very own Dota 2 prestige tournament.

The first wave of regional qualifiers for the upcoming Manila Masters Dota 2 pro event has just been announced and what better way to kick-off the qualifying tournaments than to start at the event’s home ground, the Philipines. To be handled by Mineski’s line of Internet Cafe’s the qualifiers will be divided into 3 stages; the Open Qualifier stage, the Pre-Playoffs stage, and the Playoffs stage with over 20 teams to have the opportunity of securing the lone Philippine qualifier slot.

The Open Qualifier event will be done through a series of online and on-site qualifying tournaments, starting with the first Online Open Qualifier this coming March 18, followed by the second one the day after, March 19, with the 3rd and 4th Online Open Qualifiers to commence on March 25 and 26 respectively. Once the online winners are decided, the on-site qualifying LANs will then take place in 20 Mineski Internet Cafe Branches all weekends of April located in key areas of Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

The Manila Masters Open Qualifier Event Schedule

  • March 18 – Online Qualifier #1
  • March 19 – Online Qualifier #2
  • March 25 – Online Qualifier #3
  • March 26 – Online Qualifier #4
  • April 1 – Onsite Qualifiers
    • Manila (Dapitan)
    • Cagayan De Oro
    • Angeles, Pampanga
  • April 2 – Onsite Qualifiers
    • Baguio City
    • Dasmariñas, Cavite
    • Batangas City
  • April 8 – Onsite Qualifiers
    • Marikina City
    • Tuguegarao City
    • Calamba, Laguna
  • April 9 – Onsite Qualifiers
    • Las Piñas
    • Davao City
    • Pangasinan
  • April 16 – Onsite Qualifiers
    • Palawan (via Inzomnia Internet Cafe)
    • Quezon City (Cubao)
  • April 22 – Onsite Qualifiers
    • Manila (Taft Avenue)
    • Naga, Camarines Sur
    • Laoag, Ilocos Norte (via iMaQ Internet Cafe)
  • April 23 – Onsite Qualifiers
    • Cebu City
    • Olongapo City
    • Caloocan City

After the Open Qualifier stages, the winners will then be narrowed down to 16 via another elimination stage and once the 16 qualifier participants are decided, the teams will then enter the 2nd phase of the qualifying event on May 3-4, 2017, which will be the Pre-Playoff phase in which they will be divided into groups of 4 and compete in double-elimination to determine the last 4 teams that will complete the seeded teams for the main qualifiers or the Qualifier Playoffs. At the main qualifier stage, 4 directly seeded teams will complete the 8-team lineup namely, Mineski Dota 2ExecrationHappyFeet, and TNC Pro Team which will then play it out this coming May 5-6, 2017 to determine who takes the lone Philippine qualifier slot and compete at the Manila Masters.

The Manila Masters is the 3rd prestige Dota 2 tournament that is held in the Philippines following ESL One Manila and the Manila Major and is co-organized by organizations Mineski and ESL. The event will be held at the SM Mall of Asia Arena this coming May 26-28, 2017.

What's your reaction?
About The Author
Gaming know it all, dresses like a thug at conventions, loves to spam Spiritbreaker in Dota 2, and only owns video games because of free keys and game codes.

You must log in to post a comment